Some lesser known facts about Australian Open

Last Updated: Jan 18, 2022 | 272 Views
If you're reading this, you probably know by now that Fernando Verdasco, a fellow Spaniard of wimbledon ranking 40 defeated none other than world's seventh best -Rafael Nadal, in a high-octane action-packed match at the Rod Laver Arena, on Tuesday. 

Verdasco (32) has now moved to the second round. For Nadal, it's the earliest exit from the Australian Open in his 11 attempts and only second opening round loss in his Grand Slam career. 

In another high eyeball value match on Tuesday, Andy Murray, the world number 2 and four time finalist at Australian Open finished 18-year-old upcoming star Alexander Zverev 6-1 6-2 6-3. But all this is headline grabbing stuff and you can read about this all around the internet. 

Let's talk about Australian Open and some lesser known facts about it: 
  • Roy Emerson holds the most men’s single titles with 6 earned in the 1960s, while Margaret Court managed a record 7 Australian Open titles during the same period. 
  • A 10 per cent increase in 2016 Australian Open prize money, increasing the total pool to AU$44 million
  • Wilson supplies more than 4000 dozen tennis balls for use during the tournament. Six new balls are used for the five minute warm-up and the first seven games and six new balls are provided every nine games thereafter
  • In 2015, a record 703,899 fans flocked to Australian Open 2015, smashing the previous record of 686,006 set in 2012 
  • More than 650 journalists, photographers and videographers from 283 media outlets provided detailed coverage of the Australian Open, including 296 international media from 44 different countries. There were 78 Asian media representatives on site, including 37 from Japan and 25 from China. 
  • The official Australian Open App was downloaded 1,199,509 times across iPhone, iPad and Android devices.
  • Trophy: (Men’s) Norman Brookes Challenge Cup: The perpetual trophy, which is presented to the winner of the men’s singles champion, is named after the late Sir Norman Brookes (1877–1968), a former Australian tennis champion and renowned administrator.
  •  (Women's) The Daphne Akhurst Memorial Cup is named after five time Australian singles champion Daphne Jessie Akhurst. It was first won by Joan Hartigan in 1934

MIC Newsdesk
MIC Newsdesk aggregates news on anything related to insurance in India. Keeps you updated.